# The Malaysian Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (MSPRS) Annual Meeting and Scientific Conference (MSPRS Meeting 2024): A Landmark Event

MSPRS Meeting 2024, held from November 22nd to 24th at The Majestic Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, marked a historic milestone as the society's largest scientific conference and AGM to date. This exceptional event, spanning over three days, was the result of fruitful collaborations with esteemed organizations, including the American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS), Indian Association of Aesthetic Plastic Surgeons (IAAPS), Indonesian Association of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons (INAPRAS), IMCAS and ISAPS.

With 270 participants, including local and international delegates, renowned speakers, and industry sponsors, the meeting served as a vibrant platform for knowledge exchange, professional growth, and networking.

## **Event Highlights**

- Plenary by Dr. Fu-Chan Wei: The world-renowned microsurgeon delivered an
  inspiring plenary lecture on his journey in establishing the globally acclaimed
  Chang Gung Microsurgery Center. He also emphasized the value of immediate,
  pre-operative small group discussions in achieving superior surgical outcomes.
- **MOU Signing:** A significant Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was signed with the Taiwan Society of Plastic Surgeons (TSPS), represented by Prof. Chih-Hung Lin, paving the way for future collaborations.
- **Lifetime Achievement Award:** Dr. (Mdm) Normala Basiron was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizing her contributions to the field of plastic surgery in Malaysia.
- **Council Elections:** The election of council members for the term 2024–2026 was a main agenda in the Annual General Meeting, ushering in a new leadership team to guide MSPRS into the future.

## **Congratulations to the Newly Elected Council Members**

We extend our heartfelt congratulations and best wishes to the newly elected council members:

- **President:** Dr. Shah Jumaat Md Yussof (Hospital Al-Sultan Abdullah, UITM)
- Secretary: Dr. Shamala Durairajanayagam (Sunway Velocity Medical Center)
- Treasurer: Dr. Zairizam Zakaria (KPJ Tawakkal Kuala Lumpur)

#### **Council Members:**

- Dr. Chai Koh Siang (Hospital Umum Sarawak)
- Dr. Devananthan Ilenghovan (Hospital Al-Sultan Abdullah, UITM)
- Dr. Farah Hany Omar (Hospital Kuala Lumpur)
- Dr. Raymond Yii (Pusat Perubatan Universiti Malaya)

### **Auditors:**

- Dr. Chai Siew Cheng (Management and Science University Medical Center)
- Dr. Siti Fatimah Noor Mat Johar (Universiti Sains Malaysia)

MSPRS Meeting 2024 has set a new benchmark for excellence, fostering collaboration, celebrating achievements, and shaping the future of plastic and reconstructive surgery.